Safety pins and the art of DIY culture

If there’s one thing that the late Malcolm McLaren was an advocate of, it was the DIY approach to producing culture. He was also someone that had an eye for cutting edge bits of (underground) culture that he saw around him, and packaged them to create wider audiences. I was never a punk (I was only 5 in 1977), but in the 80s when my school mates were into the Sex Pistols, I was listening to early hip hop (Electro albums, Afrika Bambatta, etc), but I feel they shared a common ethos of DIY culture – if you’re being ignored, then create your own noise.

RIP Malcolm – keep on creating your own noise!

One thought on “Safety pins and the art of DIY culture

  1. Pingback: Street reports on vinyl « Beyond Project: notes on media/education/society __ shawn sobers

Leave a comment