Zen and the Art of Rastafari

Robert Pirsig wrote Zen and the Art of Motorcycle Maintenance, one of my favourite fiction books. I read it when I was a teenager and it exercised my mind and the way I saw things, and inspired me in more ways than I can articulate.

It was the book that made me want to be a writer, and it has inspired much of my writing ever since, maybe far too much as I’ve tried in vain to write the ‘Black/Rastafari’ version of the book ever since! It was also one of my (if not the) introduction to philosophy and I can no doubt join the dots to how I ended up doing a PhD many years later. (That was NOT expected by ANYBODY – but JAH – when I left school aged 16.)

Thanks Robert Pirsig for the lessons you taught me at a young age, about Zen, philosophy, and the art of motorcycle maintenance. (For the record I have still never ridden on a motorbike, let alone every tried to fix one!)

Bless up! Rest in Peace. 💚💛❤️

Leave a Reply

